I knew it would be an epic experience, and it was, more so for other people than for me. I can honestly say that I was in a constant state of tipsiness from about noon to 9 p.m. I was never drunk, nor was I ever completely sober. I knew I had to work the next day, so I was pretty careful to not have too wild of a night. But, I have felt extremely tired today, as if I had ran a marathon the day before. Here are some highlights/lowlights from my experience:
1. My friend and I finished two pitchers of Ruby from McMenamins by noon.
2. I also tried a Bloody Mary for the first time. I took one sip and gave it away. I think it would have been delicious had I used it as a marinade for a steak, but not to drink.
3. I paid $8 to get into a football game that I watched for a maximum of 35 minutes.
4. A friend of mine who moved to LA told me his story about watching porn and almost having a foursome.
5. I tried pumpkin spice ale.
6. A bouncer told me that I have a beautiful name.
7. I went to McMenamin's again later that night, but only had half a beer because I developed the hiccups.
8. Some super-drunk girl said that she was going to beat the crap out of me at McMenamin's because I took too long in the bathroom.
9. The dance "club" I went to later that night was the most packed I've ever seen it.
10. I left at 1 a.m. because I was tired and it was far too crowded.
11. The walk from 3rd Street to the campus is sooo much longer when you're sober than when you're drunk.
12. I spent the night in my friend's apartment by myself. FYI, there should have been two other people there with me. Those two people rolled in at 7 and then 8 a.m. One of them had a 30 minute walk of shame.
13. I went to work an hour earlier than I needed to because I did not want to hear any more details from their late night excursions.
Overall, I had a pretty decent time, although I don't think that I will attend Homecoming next year. It was sort of odd how easily we all slipped back into the routine of walking around campus, attending sporting events and then going to the local bars. Even when I was walking to my car in the morning, I instinctively headed to the post office to check my mailbox.
But, I'm glad that I kept it classy last night, rather than went the trashy. I never want to be THAT alumni.

I'm glad you kept it classy! Honestly, even if I was in Oregon I probably wouldn't have gone, but I've never been into the whole homecoming thing anyways. Ha I bet I can guess what friend you are referring to...
ReplyDeleteI don't think I've ever had a Bloody Mary, but the Pumpkin Spice Ale sounds tasty. I'm glad you had a decent time =)